Holy Orders

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the ordained ministry of bishops, priests, and deacons is conferred by the laying on of hands followed by the prayer of consecration. Our ordained ministers serve the Catholic community by:

  • Preaching and teaching the good news of Jesus Christ
  • Leading us in celebrating the sacraments
  • Leading us in working together to build up the Christian community
  • Helping us serve the poor and all those in need.

The sacrament of Holy Orders is conferred in three ranks: bishops, priests, and deacons. Ordination is the sacramental ceremony in which a man becomes a deacon, priest, or bishop and is enabled to minister in Christ’s name and that of the Church. There are three ordinations in the Sacrament of Holy Orders: diaconate, priesthood, and episcopal.

Anyone interested in learning more about (or pursuing) the vocation of priesthood, religious life or the diaconate (being a deacon), can contact the parish priests or deacon. Feel free to call the parish office at 740-965-1358. Or contact Fr. William Hahn is the Director Of Vocations at whahn@columbuscatholic.org at 614-221-5565.

For more information on the priesthood, see here.